### Lists of members of the committees of the conference

### **Honorary Committee**

• Prof. Andrzej Białas

President of the Polish Academy of Arts and Science

Prof. Andrzej B. Legocki

President of the Polish Academy of Sciences

• Prof. Tadeusz Luty

President of the Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland Rector of Wroclaw University of Technology

Prof. Jacek Majchrowski

President of Cracow

Prof. Karol Musioł

Rector of the Jagiellonian University

• Prof. Adam Daniel Rotfeld

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland

• Mr Janusz Sepioł

Marshal of the Malopolska Region

Prof. Michal Seweryński

Minister of Science of the Republic of Poland

## **Programme Committee**

- Prof. Robert Fox, Chairman (Oxford, Great Britain)
- Associate Prof. Michał Kokowski, Vice-chairman (Cracow, Poland)
- Prof. Claude Debru, Vice-chairman (Paris, France)
- Prof. Maria Alvarez-Lires (Vigo, Spain),
- Prof. Fabio Bevilacqua (Pavia, Italy)
- Prof. Roman Duda (Wroclaw, Poland)
- Prof. Kostas Gavroglu (Athens, Greece)
- Prof. Fernand Hallyn (Ghent, Belgium)
- Prof. Eberhard Knobloch (Berlin, Germany)
- Prof. Janusz K. Kozłowski (Cracow, Poland)
- Prof. Helge Kragh (Aarhus, Denmark)
- Prof. Boleslaw Orłowski (Warsaw, Poland)
- Prof. Andrzej Pelczar (*Cracow, Poland*)
- Prof. W. Gerhard Pohl (Linz, Austria)
- Prof. Luis Saraiva (Lisbon, Portugal)
- Prof. Juraj Sebesta (Bratislava, Slovakia)
- Prof. Andrzej Śródka (Cracow-Warsaw, Poland)
- Prof. Ida Stamhuis (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
- Prof. Soňa Štrbáňová (*Prague, Czech Republic*)
- Prof. Adam Strzałkowski (Cracow, Poland)
  Prof. Eva Vamos (Budapest, Hungary)
- Prof. Joseph Wachelder (Maastricht, The Netherlands)
- Prof. Andrzej Kajetan Wróblewski (Warsaw, Poland),
- Prof. Alicja Zemanek (Cracow, Poland)

#### **Local Committee**

Prof. Zdzisław Mach, Chairman

Centre for European Studies, JU

• Associate Prof. Michał Kokowski, Vice-chairman

Commission on the History of Science, PAAS; IHS PAS

• Prof. Claude Debru, Vice-chairman

Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris

Dr. Mirosław Natanek

Centre for European Studies, JU

• Prof. Andrzej Pelczar

Chairman of the Commission for European Affairs, PAAS; JU

Prof. Zdzisław Pietrzyk

Jagiellonian Library, JU

Prof. Jacek Purchla

International Culture Centre, Cracow

Prof. Adam Strzałkowski

Chairman of the Commission on the History of Science, PAAS; JU

Prof. Stanislaw Waltoś

Museum of the JU

• Prof. Alicja Zemanek

Commission on the History of Science, PAAS; JU

## **Organizers**

- European Society for the History of Science
- Commission on the History of Science, Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences
- Commission for European Affairs, Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences
- Jagiellonian University
- Institute for the History of Science, Polish Academy of Sciences

#### **Partners**

- Hungarian Museum for Science and Technology
- Institute of the Contemporary History, Academy of Science of the Czech Republic
- Slovak Society for History of Science and Technology

# **Sponsors**

- Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences STRATEGIC SPONSOR
- Academic Computer Centre CYFRONET AGH (hosting of the conference web site)